lmkasem.blogg.se

What layer does wireshark capture packets at
What layer does wireshark capture packets at




what layer does wireshark capture packets at

Is Frame an internal Wireshark used to assist the user to easily see some global information about the packet of interest and some Wireshark configuration data OR is Frame a networking protocol in and of itself? I interpret the above statement as saying that "Frame" is not data that was actually being transmitted from point(A) to point(B) when I was taking the capture, but is some sore of container upon which Wireshark "builds" the captured data to show me. Such as the exact time a specific frame was captured. This led me to the following source: which states: The frame protocol is not a real protocol, but is is used by Wireshark as a base,įor all the other protocols on top of it. Naturally I wanted to know what "Frame" relates to so I did a quick google for the following: "What does frame in Wireshark related to?" When I click '"Frame" I see a list of the following elements: Interface Id: 0Įncapsulation Type: Linux cooked-mode-captureĬapture length: 45 bytes (360 bits) My question When I take a capture and click on one of it's rows, I see the following breakdown in the "Packet Details" pane: Frame






What layer does wireshark capture packets at